Do not purchase foods that contain: barley, malt, malt flavoring or malt vinegar, rye, triticale, or wheat in any form (bran, durum, germ, graham, kamut, semolina, or spelt included). Also, avoid foods that may contain gluten such as beer, breading, cereals, couscous, gravies, ice cream, imitation foods, licorice, oats, marinades, pastas, processed meats, sauces, soy sauce, soups, stuffing, and thickeners.
2- Wheat-Free Does Not Mean Gluten-Free
Just because a product is wheat-free does not mean it is free of gluten items such as rye or barley. Only purchase items that say they are gluten-free. Better yet, make food at home!
3- Be Wary Of Cross Contamination
Keep all gluten-free foods separate from those that are not. Be careful how gluten-free foods are prepared, whether you do it yourself or purchase it somewhere else where cross contamination is possible. Think about getting a gluten-free designated toaster, utensils and other items that might be used often.
4- Foods You Can Eat
All plain meats, poultry, fish, and eggs, rice, legumes, nuts and seeds, all plain fruits and veggies, dairy products (preferrably organic, grass-fed and best is raw), olive and coconut oils, vinegar (except for malt), and usually anything that says it is gluten-free.
5- Acceptable Grain Substitutes
Rice, coconut, nuts, seeds, quinoa, amaranth, buckwheat, teff, beans, and arrowroot are some that are acceptable as you begin. Many of the flours used as alternatives for gluten are not healthful and can cause more problems. Be sure to vary your diet and not just replace everything with rice. For proper gut healing, stricter guidelines may be used. It is suggested you speak with a health care practitioner.
6- Distilled Alcohols And Wine Can Be Consumed
Gin, whiskey, and vodka do not contain gluten after the distillation process. Wines are also gluten-free, but beers, ales and lagers are not. Note: Some beers are gluten-free
7- When In Doubt, Bring It Yourself
If you do not know if the places you are going will have foods that you can eat, make sure to have a handy bag or cooler filled with snacks to take with you. If you are going to a party, be sure to bring a dish to pass so at least you will have one thing safe to eat. Do not count on others to understand what gluten is or prepare special meals.
Learn more in my book The Guide to a Gluten-Free Diet, co-authored with Dr. Brownstein or

